Dahlia, Je t’adore…

August 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm 1 comment

No secret Dahlias are my favorite flower. Last month,  Mr Pretzel IMed me this link http://www.scdahlias.org/national-show/ . I just about jumped out of my seat! The Snohomish County (where I live) Dahlia Society was hosting the National Show. You might as well have said that Williams Sonoma was having a 99 cent clearance sale.

Needless to say, Mr Pretzel  and I went to the show.  I… was… in… heaven!  I took lots of photos, got some tips from the members on growing my Dahlias and even got a website of a place that sells cut Dahlias.   Apparently, the Snohomish County Society was celebrating 100 years of Dahlia shows- the longest running show in the country.

I plan to carry a Dahlia bouquet and use Dahlias at the reception.  I e-mailed the local grower and was sad to find out he isn’t selling cut Dahlias anymore. Apparently selling Dahlia tubers online is more lucrative than selling the flowers.   Boo!  Still, I have high hopes of finding a local grower to contract with for my blooms.

Mr Pretzel did good, the trip to the show was amazing and I was inspired.  Dahlia, Dahlia, Dahlia…je t’adore

Entry filed under: Flowers. Tags: , .

There once was a girl who loved to knit… I said Yes!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Aimee Sherrill, owner The Dahlia Barn  |  May 14, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    We are a local dahlia grower that can provide you with all the fresh cut dahlias you need !! Please contact us if we can help you. 425-888-2155

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


