Building the Party

October 4, 2009 at 1:06 pm 1 comment

How big can a wedding party be without being too big?  According to Mr Pretzel… three bridesmaids, three groomsmen.

“Three is ok, but four is too much?” I asked.

“Exactly” He replied.

Source: Courtship in America

Source: Courtship in America

Despite his minimalist thinking around attendants, we’ve finally settled on having 5 bridesmaids, 4 groomsmen and 2 ushers.  Certainly not the three and three he was envisioning but definitely not the ridiculous size of this vintage photo.

When Mr Pretzel asked who I wanted to be in our wedding, I rattled off three girls without hesitation.  After thinking, I added his sister and later I realized I also really wanted his brother’s fiance in the wedding too.  There was no way we were going to get down to three.  Mr Pretzel decided to have 4 groomsmen and two close friends as ushers.  We’re really not so concerned about our wedding party matching.  But I think it’s totally funny that he essentially has 6 guys to my 5 girls. 🙂 So much for 3 being the perfect number.  Let me introduce you to my girls. In order of the length of time i have known them…

MOH Knit- My Sister-in-law- was awesome and had us rock some re-wearable BM dresses!

MOH Pretzel was awesome and had us rock some re-wearable BM dresses!

MOH Pretzel:  MOH Pretzel  is so many things to me, she is sister-in-law, big sister, friend, voice of reason, cohort in crime (putting curlers in my brothers hair while he slept!) and very importantly- she is the Mom of my awesome (and adorable) niece and nephew.  I met her Christmas of 1992 when she flew out to NH to spend some holiday time with my family. She also spent the summer of 1993 in NH and we became like sisters. She and my brother were married in 1995 and I was very honored to stand up at their wedding.  She DIYed a lot of touches for the wedding and that was a big inspiration to me to do the same.  MOH Pretzel, Big Brother Pretzel, Niece Pretzel, Nephew Pretzel all live a little south of Denver.

BM Ro had a fabulous destination wedding- without breaking the bank!

BM Ro had a fabulous destination wedding- without breaking the bank!

BM Ro:  I met Ro my first day on campus. We were in the same dorm.  We became fast friends and through ups and downs have remained so.  BM Ro is from Indianapolis and quickly opened her family to me. I became close with her parents, grandma, and sister.  Her family became my Indiana family.  We had lots of adventures- driving to NH for October break in my little Toyota, spring break in PHX/LA- running out of gas on the highway in CA, living together (not our best decision- but we survived!), lots of partying, crying on each others shoulders when we hit hard times in life.  I was so proud to stand up at her Wedding on the beach in Flordia.   I wish the miles weren’t so far.

H and I rock the rodeo!

Hillbilly and I rock the rodeo!

BM Hillbilly:  We and I met in 2005 when we both worked for the same company.  We did a few things together socially with other people from work but we really became close friends when Hillbilly decided to learn how to knit. I had also just learned to knit and we spent a lot of time together at the yarn store, or my house (which for a while was above the yarn store!)  Thankfully we both decided to leave unhappy work circumstances and our friendship has continued.  Who else would introduce me to country music- be my Rodeo buddy or conspire to knit underwear (we totally have to do it Hillbilly!)?  I am lucky to call BM Hillbilly my friend.  I have high hopes that if she elopes to Vegas I’ll get to be there in person- but I’ll settle for a photo of her with Elvis. 🙂

5536_511431526683_172201233_30504804_3980150_n

BM Thunderstruck and her DH... now expecting a baby in May!

BM (and FSIL) Thunderstruck: When Mr Pretzel invited me on his family vacation in August 2008 I freaked! I was so excited/nervous to meet his: Mom, Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, sister Thunderstruck, future (now) brother in law Thunderstruck, brother Ice Cream, Ice Cream’s then girlfriend now fiance Twist, Aunt, Uncle, and two young cousins. BM Thunderstruck and her then fiance,  picked us up at the airport- this made everything a little less stressful. We drove together from Chicago- through WI to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  I got to know them on the drive and we really had a lot of fun.  Having that time to get to know them made meeting the rest of the family much easier!  Overall, the family vacation was awesome.  BM Thunderstruck played host to us at the Michigan/Purdue game and we had the best Halloween with them. Her wedding was also a lot of fun and I enjoyed helping BM Thunderstruck get some of her last minute details together (you know i love to DIY!).  We are very excited to welcome a Thunderstruck BABY to the family next May!

BM S and Mr Knit's Baby Brother in Seattle

BM Twist and Mr Pretzel's Baby Brother Ice Cream in Seattle

BM Twist (soon to be FSIL!): When Mr Pretzel and I arrived at the vacation house in Michigan I will never forget BM Twist  taking me aside and saying- “we’re in this together- I haven’t spent that much time with the  family either”  She instantly put me at ease.  She and I did lean on each other a little as we got to know each other better.  We shared the stories of our relationships with our  boys (which shared a lot of similarities- unbeknown to any of us!) and most of all- we had a blast.  Our visit back for BM Thunderstruck’s wedding gave us a chance to get closer as we stayed at their new home.  In August they spent a week with us in Seattle.  We have a lot of similar personality traits and we really seem to understand one another.    I am really happy to have my future sister-in-law in our wedding party.  BM Twist and Mr Pretzel’s baby brother Ice Cream are going to be married in May. Yay!

How many BM and GM are you having?  Are you worried about each side matching?

Entry filed under: groomsmen, Maids.

Retro Chic! E-Photo Sneak Peek Inspiration with Dessy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 4, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I think this just reinforces my point though that there are no pictures of me taken in the past 10 years…ok, at least not any flattering ones that I will allow posted 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


