Hand that Girl a Hankie

October 5, 2009 at 5:24 pm 2 comments

… perhaps a perfect little silk hankie that says “Will you be my bridesmaid?”

My maids are all over the country- Denver, Seattle, Indiana, Illinois… there aren’t 2 maids in the same city out of the five of them and only one I actually see day to day.  I wish I could have asked each of them in person, but I did the next best thing- sent them a personalized invitation to stand up with me at my wedding.

I love www.Etsy.com– been loving it for a lonnnng time. Call it inspiration central!

  • Need ideas for unique gift for Mr Pretzel? Done!
  • Need to find a handblown glass sink at a killer deal? Done!
  • Need hard to find crafting supplies like pearlized flower stamen? Done!
  • Need a tutorial for a particular craft? Done!

In my case it was “Need ideas for bridesmaids invitations?” Done!

Bridesmaid invites from ArtfulBeginnings on www.etsy.com

Source ArtfulBeginnings

I search on “Bridesmaid Invitation”. POOF! There appeared the puuuuurfect gift for my girls.  ArtfulBeginnings posted a set of 4 custom  silk hankerchiefs for $27… what, what? $27  I quickly bookmarked this page. Once I had the BM line up settled I ordered 5 hankies in our wedding colors (the extra one cost like $6 and some change). Each girl got an invitation in the color she would be wearing in our wedding.

As a side note: I’m a Catholic grrrl- so it’s confession time- I ordered these bad boys before Mr Pretzel even proposed- I was that excited!  I was so convinced that he was going to propose on our New England trip (which he did) that I wanted to bring the invitations with us so I could pop them in the mail as soon as we were engaged.  Mr Pretzel put his foot down and said I could wait until we got home. Booo!

How perfect are these?   The hankies fold up into a little square and slide nicely into a card personalized with the recipient’s name.  My MOH’s hankie asks “Will you be my Matron of Honor?” and the other ones ask “Will you be my Bridesmaid?”  The envelope wraps are freebies from A Very Chocolate Wedding.  Love it!

All in a row....

All in a row....

Hs invite

Details on BM Hillbilly's invite

Envelope wraps!

Envelope wraps!

Sadly, the post office lost one of my invites.  I quickly e-mailed ArtfulBeginnings and purchased a replacement. While I was doing so I started to browse the other offerings in the shop. Check out these other cute wedding items:

Bridal Hankie for $19 ArtfulBeginnings

Source: ArtfulBeginnings: Bridal Hankie for $19

Fabric wedding invitations with rice paper RSVPs - wild flowers, set of 25 for $90

Source Artful Beginnings: Fabric wedding invitations with rice paper RSVPs - wild flowers, set of 25 for $90

Something blue ring pillow with your custom text $37

Source ArtfulBeginnings: Something blue ring pillow with your custom text $37

How did you ask your bridesmaids to be in your wedding?

All photos: Miss Pretzel unless otherwise noted.

Entry filed under: Maids. Tags: .

Inspiration with Dessy When I lose my words…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    This is such a cute idea! My 8 year old has carried my hankie off already though…I will hunt it down! I asked my bridesmaids in person, since most lived pretty close. I did ask one while she was in a coma (well, coming out of it) and she said “yes” (after she was fully awake, of course)

    Reply
    • 2. iftinkerbellknit  |  October 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm

      🙂 wow… I didn’t realize the wedding was that close to her recovery! I’ll be sending the girl a hankie of her own once we’ve figured out if she can do the readings 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


