Inspiration with Dessy

October 5, 2009 at 3:46 pm Leave a comment

With such a bright color pallet, you might imagine finding bridesmaids dresses would be hard.  It was…strike that, it is (we aren’t 100% on the BM dresses yet).   If a dress maker had a pretty bright pink, they didn’t have an orange, or they had a green but not he right green. I knew exactly what I wanted and didn’t really find it until I stumbled on www.Dessy.com.  I personally like the After Six and the Alfred Sung lines.

Two main things that I love about the site?  Hundreds of dress options in tons of colors, and dresses that have “accent” colors so you aren’t limited to one color.  Seriously- I spent hours this summer, taking screen shots of dresses I liked, editing out the background in Photoshop (not always easy!) and putting into PowerPoint so I could see all the dresses together and so I could share with Mr Pretzel.   Lots and lots of hours… the result looked something like this:

Early attempts at a powerpoint inspiration board for my maids

Early attempts at a powerpoint inspiration board for my maids

Not all that inspiring… Over time I got better at making inspiration boards and started using different web tool like www.snipi.com to organize my photos and sources.  I started to leave the maids out of my inspiration boards because I couldn’t quite get the images edited properly to remove the background.  If only Dessy had launched the Inspiration Board part of their site then!  It seriously kicks butt!  Using dresses and a tie from the Dessy site and uploaded images of my own I was able to make this inspiration board in just a couple minutes.

Kodachrome Inspiration Board made at Dessy.com

Kodachrome Inspiration Board made at Dessy.com

The best part? As my maids tell me which dress they selected I can update my board to reflect the actual dresses they will be wearing.  *Sigh*  I heart Dessy 🙂

What handy tools have you found to organize your inspirations?  Have you revisited your inspiration board frequently?

Entry filed under: Dress, Inspiration, Maids.

Building the Party Hand that Girl a Hankie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


