Quickie project: Signature Cocktail Sign

October 13, 2009 at 7:24 pm 1 comment

I got the idea to mock up a project that has been in the back of my mind lately.  The signature cocktail sign.

Click for source

Click for source

I think we’ve already established that Mr Pretzel and I are beer snobs (if we haven’t established that yet- we are, in fact, beer geeks).  If it was up to us we would serve 5 different types of brews and forgo the wine and cocktails.  But that wouldn’t make us good hosts.  We’ll be offering red and white wine in addition to a signature cocktail.  Mojito, Margarita, Mimosa?  Not here.  Our signature cocktail has a story. One that makes me both happy and sad every time I think about it.

My mom got married in the summer- on a blistering hot day. The reception was at my Grandparents house and they served wedding punch among other things.  The guests drank a lot of punch to quench their thirst.  Itty-bitty problem- the recipe is almost all alcohol.  Needless to say it was quite the party.  My dad refers to the punch as “White Lightening” and I think all of the attendees of their wedding remember the punch, even though some don’t remember how they got home.

My grandma learned her lesson, at my Aunt’s wedding she cut down the amount of punch she made.  This is marked clear as day on the recipe card. Betty 4 batches, Jane 2.   When I found the recipe among Grandma’s recipes I didn’t think I would serve it at my Wedding.  Punch, especially alcoholic punch,  really isn’t in vogue anymore (gosh I sounded like my Grandma there!) and I wasn’t acquainted with the concept of a signature cocktail.  We were discussing drink options with our caterer when she suggested a signature cocktail and instantly the punch jumped into my head again.   I looked at Mr Pretzel and we both had the same thought: we could update the punch, make it more cocktail like and serve it at our wedding.  I e-mailed a scan of the recipe to the caterer and told them the story. They thought it was the coolest.

I love this photo of my Grandparents. It always make me smile!

I love this photo of my Grandparents. It always make me smile!

Why am I thinking about signature cocktails 9 months before our wedding?  I’ve been thinking about my Grandma lately.  Sadly, she has Alzheimer’s and won’t be able to attend our wedding.  Mr Pretzel and I were able to visit her the days following the proposal. Multiple times we told her about our engagement and showed her my ring.  Each time she was so excited and exclaimed how pretty my ring was.  She took my face in her hands and gave me a hug.  For an instant she shared our joy, but sadly it doesn’t last.  I recently removed her from my invitation list and this was hard.  I knew that she wouldn’t be able to come but a part of me wanted to believe that she would get the invitation and for a second, remember and share our joy.  Sadly, the invitation would just confuse her.

So, having her wedding punch at our wedding is my way of honoring her and  I want to have a sign at the bar to share this with our guests.  Here’s my first try at it.  I am not sure if I am happy with it yet, but it really made me happy to get something on paper.

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: .

Introducing the Mini-Pretzels: Our DIY Cupcake Toppers The Ring Part I: Hugging the Girdle

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    We had it at our wedding, too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


