The Ring Part II: Irony in a Blue Box

October 20, 2009 at 2:46 pm 1 comment

It wasn’t lost on me how ironic it was that I, a self professed low maintenance girl, fell in love wit THE classic Tiffany engagement ring.   When Mr Pretzel and I finally visited Tiffany & Co together we had a lot of fun with the sales associate, Amy.  She said hands down I was the easiest future fiance she had worked with. My requirements were simple:

The Tiffany Setting, with a brilliant round cut diamond not to exceed .5 carats in size. That’s all. Color, Clarity? Well, if they carry it – it’s good for me (Tiffany & Co only carries diamonds above a certain threshold. For example, I is the lowest color rating that they will carry).

.5 carat

Source: Tiffany & Co

Pretty simple.  He could decide what color or clarity rating was important to him.  The size thing though, I was pretty firm about that. We looked at sizes from .45 to .5 and any of them were fine.  Over .5, I really felt like the diamond was too big for my finger.  Blasphemy I am sure, but remember my finger is a mere 3.5, and remember I’m a no-fuss, low maintenance kind of girl.  1 carat might look fine on larger hands, but on mine it looked like a boulder.

In the time between our visit to Tiffany and when Mr Pretzel proposed, he had a lot of fun ribbing me about my fancy dream ring.  I also would give him a hard time about little blue boxes.  In the end, I didn’t get a little blue box. Remember how Mr Pretzel hid my ring in the Ipod compartment of his Nike Running shoes?  I was expecting a box and he was paranoid that I would find a box, so he opted for the Tiffany Blue pouch.

I was kinda sad I didnt get a box.

I was kinda sad I didn't get a box.

When we went in a couple weeks ago to get it sized again, Amy, our sales associate, wanted to hear all about our engagement story.  She loved it, especially how he hid it in his shoe and made me cry- .  She was surprised to hear that he didn’t get a box with my ring.   Mr Pretzel told her that he refused the box because he was convinced I would find it.  In his defense, I did frisk him at the airport. When we finally went to pick up my ring, Amy had a surprise for us:

*Squeal! How pretty is it.  I totally get the whole blue box thing now.  Repeat after me: I am a hypocryte!

*Squeal! How pretty is it. I totally get the whole blue box thing now. Repeat after me: I am a hypocryte!

My ring all wrapped up pretty as can be!

Yay!

Yay!

At last, a safe place to keep my ring while I sleep!

At last, a safe place to keep my ring while I sleep!

PS so freaking hard to photograph this ring- the sparkle freaks my point and shoot camera out and it doesnt focus properly!

PS so freaking hard to photograph this ring- the sparkle freaks my camera out and it doesn't focus properly!

*sigh* Mr. Knit you did goooood!

Ultimately Mr Pretzel picked out a ring just under .5 - G color - VS1 clarity. *sigh* Mr. Pretzel you did goooood!

How did your engagement ring arrive? Was the packaging important?  PS- do you keep your ring on when you sleep.? I’m curious about that…

Photo Credit: Miss Pretzel unless otherwise noted.

Entry filed under: Background. Tags: , .

The Ring Part I: Hugging the Girdle Forever Flowers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. uncensoredmind  |  October 25, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    beautiful story …. Congratulations 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


