Creative Differences

October 31, 2009 at 10:11 pm Leave a comment

I’ve got opinions… lots of them. I also fancy myself a creative-type.  That’s all well and good but Mr Pretzel has the same characteristics.  This really hasn’t been a problem… until wedding planning, more specifically the save the dates.

Mr Pretzel and I decided very early on that we wanted to design all of our paper products ourselves.  I was excited because Mr P was a computer graphics major in college so I knew I would have some help in this department.  Little did I know that the design process would thrust us into the biggest head-butting competition of our relationship.  It might sound funny but even though we are both opinionated people, we don’t argue much.  When we talked about inspiration we were on the same page, we both wanted our Save the Dates to have a “rock ‘n’ roll poster” feel to them.  The problem came in articulating the vision that that term brought to mind.

I am a get things on paper kind of girl.  As soon as I have an idea, I boot up Photoshop and try to get my idea from my head to the screen.  Mr P looked at my first mock up and said- “I don’t like it”. I asked him what he was thinking of and he said “a punk poster with bright paper and black text”  I said, “no freakin way”.  We talked a little more and I tried to incorporate his ideas a second time. “Nah I don’t like that either”.  After a minor blow up I got him to sketch on paper what he was envisioning.  This is what he drew.

The idea in Mr Pretzel's brain

Something clicked in my brain, I understood his idea and I liked it, I really liked it.  Our creative minds were in sync.  We learned how to work together on design and together created one that we are both in love with.  We estimate that it took us a total of 10 hours total from design >> creation >> getting them in the mail.  Today we breathed a sign of relief as we sealed the last envelope and affixed the last stamp.

Watching them disappear into the mail slot today was cathartic… out of our hands and on their ways to our friends and family.  Can’t wait to show you the contents contained in these beautiful 100% recycled envelopes!

Entry filed under: DIY.

Forever Flowers Foot Candy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


