Forever Flowers

October 31, 2009 at 9:36 pm Leave a comment

Just like Miss P Chips, I also had an inspirational issue of Martha Stewart Weddings magazine. Mine was the  Martha Stewart Weddings- Summer 2009. That issue was so packed with bright color and DIY goodness I had dogeared and worn corners in no time. The biggest inspiration that came from that issue was flowers.  I already knew that I wanted to carry dahlias.  I kinda figured my girls would too.  That is until I saw the fabric and crepe paper created by Laurie Cinotto on the pages of MSW.

Source: Martha Stewart Weddings Summer 2009

Source: Martha Stewart Wedding Summer 2009

Laurie’s, lalalaurie etsy store appears to be closed except for custom orders, no doubt due to the business the MSW feature generated.  But let’s be real- I had a “I can do that” moment and purchasing 6 bouquets at $300 a pop wasn’t really in the budget.

I did a little research online and found tutorials for making crepe paper flowers at foofanagle, Castle in the Air, and Martha Stewart crafts. I got enough confidence from these tutorials that I could make the crepe paper ones.  I had a good idea in my head how to make the fabric ones so I headed out to the craft store to stock up on the materials I needed.

My plan is to make an assortment of orange and pink flowers with rich green foliage.  The fabric flowers will be a mix of solid and patterned fabrics and I will add in some ribbon loops in orange, pink, aqua, and green.  The stems will be wrapped in turquoise ribbon.  The guys will wear matching boutonnieres.

oranges

Pinks

Greens

Blue ribbon and yellow for flower centers

I’m making the flowers slowly, learning as I go.  I’ve got 6 bouquets to make by July… I might have to enlist some family and friend help.  Eventually, I will post a tutorial-when I get all of the tips and tricks figured out.  Until then, enjoy  a little crepe paper and fabric eye candy.

Entry filed under: Flowers.

The Ring Part II: Irony in a Blue Box Creative Differences

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


