Engaging the Holidays

December 3, 2009 at 10:50 pm Leave a comment

No, No, No, I am not talking about getting engaged over the holidays- although I am sure a number of our gals in “waiting” will be surprised this December- I’m talking about celebrating the holidays as an engaged couple.

Last year was our first Christmas together, this is our first (and I guess only) Christmas as an engaged couple, and next year will mark the first of many Christmas’s together as husband and wife.  My family has a tradition of buying 1 Christmas ornament every year for the family and for each kid.  By the time we went off on our own, both my brother and I had a full tree of ornaments each.  I’ve continued this tradition, picking out an ornament for myself every year.

Well almost every year.  Last year I took Mr Pretzel to a local glass blowing studio.  The studio has a program where you can assist an artist in creating a hand-blown glass ornament… and by assisting I mean you supply the hot air and pick out the colors/design.

Mr Pretzel supplying hot air

The beautiful outcome

Together we made a total of 3 ornaments.  By far my favorite was one inspired by a 6 pack of beer.  No really! Mr Pretzel saw the colors on this 6 pack of Deschutes Jubelale and had to make an ornament based on it.  I think he was pretty successful.

We got into the giving of the season and ended up gifting all of  the ornaments we made to family and friends- forgetting to keep an ornament for ourselves.  The first time in 32 years for me I didn’t have a new Christmas ornament and it was the first Christmas I celebrated with my future husband.  *insert small pout*   This year I wasn’t going to let that happen again.

About a week ago I set out for find the right ornament to celebrate our very special  hallmark of 2009- Mr Pretzel and my engagement.  Armed with a CD full of beautiful engagement photos (I’m still waiting on some edits from our photographer before doing my official e-photo post) I set out on my search.  A photo ornament seemed to be what I was looking for.  Some of my favorite places to shop for photo gifts are Walgreens and Costco– although Snapfish and Shutterfly are also popular options.  Walgreens had what I was looking for (I even found a free shipping coupon) and $14.99 later I had this little beauty on its way to me.

I love the postcard style. Of course I had to document the year (with silver sharpie) and add a ribbon (temporary until I find a red one).  It arrived quickly and I surprised Mr P with our first “couple” ornament.

Speaking of engagement photos, we also had Canvas On Demand print up a 8×11 canvas with one of our engagement photos.  Papa Pretzel is helping us pay for the wedding and he has a serious blank wall problem at his house- like he’s lived there for a couple years and hasn’t hung more that 2 or 3 pictures/paintings.  Hopefully he’ll enjoy hanging our smiling mugs somewhere.

Source

I have to admit, I went a little crazy purchasing little photo gifts for Mr Pretzel and I!

Have you used E-Photos/Wedding Photos in gifts for others/yourself this year?

Entry filed under: Family, Photography.

Red Retro Christmas Inspiration For those about to rock… ummm can I get a reference?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


