For those about to rock… ummm can I get a reference?

December 6, 2009 at 8:33 pm Leave a comment

Source

Every time I log into WeddingWire.com I see the following list of to do tasks:

  • Search for a Band
  • Search for a DJ
  • Book your Band
  • Book your DJ

Adding insult to injury, the due date of all of these tasks? October 2009.  Whoops…  I’d love to report that we’re well on our way to checking these off the list- but we are currently in paralysis mode.

Mr P and I both lovey love us some live music.  We are 95% sure we want a band at the wedding.  The 5% uncertainty? Neither of us has been to a wedding with a live band.  Nor has either of us been to a Prom/Dance/Function with a live band.  We have absolutely no idea what it would be like.

Further complicating this,  I have a hankering for some old school hip-hop…

“This speech is my recital, I think its very vital

To rock (a rhyme) thats right (on time)

Its tricky is the title  here we go” – Run DMC, It’s Tricky

Just typing the lyrics, my little –OK not so little– Pretzel butt gets shaking  and I start grooving to the beat in my head.  Run DMC, LL Cool J, Beastie Boys, Sir Mix-a-Lot, De La Soul, Tribe Called Quest, Salt n Pepa…. I can have an all night dance party with the music in my head.   Despite my love of old school hip hop we think we want a good old-fashioned rock band.  Our love for rock n roll surpasses my love for hip hop, but will we miss the songs that leaves out?  I am seriously pondering if a band exists that plays good ol’ fashioned rock and roll and can spin some old school hip hop too.

I don’t think that we’re going to miraculously get invited to a wedding with a live band any time soon, so Mr Pretzel and I decided to ask you, the Hive, to help us out.

  • Have you been to a wedding with a live band?
  • What was the atmosphere like?
  • Logistically how did the evening unfold?
  • What were some things you thought worked well, didn’t work well?
  • Where the heck should we start with our band search?
  • Oh, and if you know of a rock band that also spins some mad beats- let me know!
Entry filed under: Vendors.

Engaging the Holidays In Search of an Urban Pretzel Party: The Conclusion

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


