Retro Recon

January 3, 2010 at 4:42 pm 1 comment

Thanks to the fabulous Stephanie James Couture, I finally found my wedding dress groove- retro 1950’s styling.  YAY!  I quickly researched how much a SKC dress would put a dent in the Pretzel purse and YAY became NAY.  Remember I have a list of things I vowed not to do during wedding planning and “I won’t spend an arm and a leg on a wedding dress” was on the list.  I guess I should qualify that over 1K = an arm and a leg (or two) to me.  So Stephanie James Couture was out.

But I was still feeling good. I knew what I wanted (finally!) – a tea length 1950’s party dress. I was feeling a little Audrey Hepburn in Funny Face.

[Source]

I hit the interwebs and did a little retro recon and was rewarded with a large number of authentic vintage dresses.  My “Dress” folder became filled with images of vintage goodness.  Take a gander at the fruits of my searching.

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

[Source]

Which one of these beauties will Pretzel be rocking?  Sadly none. You see, it seems that in the 1950’s waists were a wee bit smaller than my Pretzel waist.  A large percentage of the vintage dresses that I found were for very petite women with 25 inch waists.  *Sigh* With my 29 inch waist I guess I am more of a “soft pretzel” than a “pretzel stick”. My MOH Tig also pointed out that vintage fabrics can be very delicate and sometimes can be a bit scratchy.  Without trying the dress on in person it would be hard to know if it would work.

*Sigh*

All my research was beneficial though. I validated that this is the style dress I want and I gathered a list of resources to share with other brides. If you are interested in vintage dresses check out these resources:

On Etsy.com

On Ebay

On the Interwebs

So, the search continues.

Would you consider wearing a vintage wedding dress? Do you have any resources for vintage garb?

Entry filed under: Dress.

Dressing Mama P Three Weddings and a Baby

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Bobbi Roth  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I am in love with your vintage dress finds! They scream classic Hollywood glamour. You, my dear, are going to look beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


