Dressing the Dudes: Fully Vested

January 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm Leave a comment

I was surprised how much interest the Groomsmen/Ushers have taken in their attire.  I think there was a universal sigh of relief when he told them that they would not be wearing tuxes.

Tux image source

Like Ms Potato Chips, Mr Pretzel and I have been eying a more casual look for Groom and Groomsmen attire.  Mr Pretzel looked dashing in the vest and dress pants combo in the first part of our e-photo shoot so we decided to roll with that for our groomsmen.

Our color pallet for the guys?  Grey + Wedding colors as accents.  While visiting Mr Pretzel’s family in Indiana over the holidays we hit groomsmen pay dirt.  Kohls had a buy one get one free event for suit separates.   Mr P, my FMIL, and I combed the racks and found the perfect vest/pant combo.  We snatched up 4 sets for a price of 67.50 per groomsmen.  *I did my “I found a bargain” dance*  With out further ado, here is how our Groomsmen will become vested!

Take one Grey Sharkskin Wool Vest…

Source

… mix with a white french cuff shirt

Source

… add some modern fit carbon grey pants

Source

… top with a matte satin tie which matches a bridesmaid dress

Ties from Dessy.com

… and garnish with some kick a$$ Lego cuff links (or Bro-broach a la Ms Potato Chip)  from Etsy’s Bits and Badges.

Personal Photo

Not too shabby! Don’t forget about those custom Chuck Taylors in coordinating colors.

On the subject of colors, the third question out of our Groomsmen/Usher’s mouths?  What color am I?  The Ushers had a hilarious conversation which I will recount in an upcoming post,  but for the Groomsmen the conversation when like this.

Miss Pretzel to Groomsman Trumpet: You can wear pink, green, orange, or blue.

Groomsman Trumpet: I won’t wear pink- but orange sounds awesome.

Miss Pretzel to Best Man M: ” You can wear pink, green, or blue.

Best Man M: I won’t wear pink, I want orange

Miss Pretzel: Too bad so sad, your brother is wearing orange try again.

Best Man M: Blue then.

Miss Pretzel to Groomsmen V and B: One of you has to wear pink- if nobody volunteers I am flipping a coin.

Best Man V: I’ll pony up, pink for me.

Ha! Boys are funny.

Are you going the more casual route?  Did any of your Groomsmen put up a stink about wedding colors?

Entry filed under: groomsmen.

Dressing the Dudes: Chucks, No Tux Forever Flowers: The prototypes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


