Forever Flowers: The prototypes

January 13, 2010 at 4:00 pm 1 comment

I am going to interrupt my Dressing the Dudes series to to bring you what is, perhaps, my proudest DIY moment to date.  If you remember, I fell in love with a crepe paper and fabric bouquet and boutonnieres in the summer edition of Martha Stewart Weddings.  I wanted 5 mini versions for my ‘Maids so I went about figuring out how to make my own.

Here is a refresher of what the bouquet and bout in MSW looks like:

And here are my versions:

Bridesmaid Bouquet

Bouts for the dads- light pink crepe paper rose for FFIL and dark pink “Pointy Petal Flower” for Papa Pretzel

I learned a lot of lessons along the way. Don’t look too closely- but this one is a  little lumpy/uneven – but I think it looks great nonetheless.  One bouquet down, 4 more to make!  This one is comprised of 25 flowers, fabric leaves, and ribbon loops.

The boutonnieres were surprisingly easy and I’m quite pleased with how they came out.  The light pink rose is for FFIL and the dark rose if for Papa Pretzel.

My paternal grandmother had breast cancer and my cousin has beat breast cancer twice.  We have the BRCA 1 gene in our family (I am negative- I was tested last year) so the breast cancer cause is close to our hearts.  For Papa Pretzel I added a small breast cancer ribbon to his bout.

With 4-5 more bouquets to make and 25 flowers per bouquet- Mr Pretzel estimates that I need to make one flower per day to stay on track. I guess I better get cracking!

What is your proudest DIY?  Have you recreated a project from a bridal magazine?

Entry filed under: DIY, Flowers.

Dressing the Dudes: Fully Vested Dressing the Dudes: Snappy Suspenders

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Florista  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:31 am

    These flowers are great and are really creative 😀 keep up the good work

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


