This Seems a Little Familiar…

February 10, 2010 at 10:43 pm Leave a comment

When it came to the process of settling on “the dress” it felt vaguely familiar. My dress identity crisis has been documented herehere, here, here, here and here.  At the time I thought the comfort that the felt once I decided to have my dress made for me was just because it was the right decision.  It was/is the right decision but I recently realized that the comfort was also because… I’ve totally done this before and it turned out amazing!

Let me set the stage. It’s winter of 1995. It’s time to go shopping for prom dresses. Off the shoulder looks are VERY big this season, as is heavy fabrics,  and big skirts. *All photos in this post are personal photos Circa 1995.

Off the shoulder? Check. Heavy Fabrics? Check. Poofy Skirt? Check.

I poured over teen magazines looking at dress styles. Meh… I went shopping with Mama Pretzel a couple of times. Meh… I wasn’t feeling it. Sound familiar?

I seriously doubted that I would find a dress and I was beginning to give up on the idea of going to prom.  Then my Grandma said,  “Miss Pretzel, just find a pattern you like and let’s have a dress made for you.”

Oh Grandma and all of your wisdom!  Within minutes of looking through a pattern book I found my dress. It was timeless, classic, and elegant. It was different and didn’t look like all of the dresses that my classmates were scooping up at the local Jessica McClintock.  No, this Pretzel rocked an off-white silk bias cut sheath dress.  It fit like a glove and felt like a dream.  *Swoon*  In all of my worries about my wedding dress I had forgotten about this strikingly similar dress search until I stumbled across prom photos in my search for my Hair-story.  Imagine my surprise when I also realized that my prom dress from 1995 would make a beautiful wedding dress today.

*Swoon* The back is what sold me on this dress.

Having my dress made then and now was and is the right thing for me. While I wait for my dress to be finished I have a sense of calm because, well, I’ve done this before.

Have you experienced deja vu while planning your wedding?

Entry filed under: Dress.

Tossing Out the Silverware I think I need some facial hair…

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


