Wanna Play Paper Dolls?

February 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm Leave a comment

Source

My grandma used to buy me paper dolls – sometimes as a little gift for a holiday and sometimes just because.  I loved playing with them, especially the more vintage-y dolls.  I distinctly remember a Victorian set of dolls and  a 1950’s set.  I can’t help but smile when I picture the dolls with their modest underthings and a wide array of clothes and accessories just waiting to be combined in sometimes hilarious ways. Can you say pajama pants with a tennis skirt?

Imagine my delight when I spotted a set of paper dolls for the bride!  Yeah, that’s right- I became 7 years old in an instant and have been pining for this set ever since.

Source: Save-On-Crafts

I love the vintage feel (it’s a reproduction obviously).  The set comes in a book like folder with a place to write down who is in your wedding party. Dolls and clothes for a Bride, Groom, Maid of Honor, Best Man, Bridesmaid (but no groomsmen- apparently boys make boring paper dolls) and flower girl.  I think it would make a great keepsake that my future children could play with.

Source: Save-On-Crafts

Source: Save-On-Crafts

Sure, I could add it to my cart and click the purchase button, but I hold back. There is a certain sentimental element around paper dolls for me and even though my Grandma isn’t able to buy this set for me, there is a little girl inside me that secretly hopes one of my bridesmaids does :). Yes I am shameless I know.  Will I be upset if I don’t get to be a 7 year old again and play paper dolls?  Not in the least- but they are pretty cool.

Are you unable to pull the trigger on certain Wedding related items, secretly hoping someone else gifts them to you?

Entry filed under: randomness.

Centerpieces Revisited Gocco my Fork?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


