For the Love of Moms Part One: FMIL Pretzel

February 25, 2010 at 10:39 pm 1 comment

Source

Some of us bond tightly with our moms while others battle.  Wedding planning can bring out the beauty or the beast of this relationship.  I’ve been reflecting lately on the Moms in our lives and I wanted to share with you the beautiful differences.   Let me start by telling you a little bit about Mr Pretzel’s mom.

When we first started dating I had trouble getting a real sense for what Mr Pretzel’s parents and siblings were like.   Finally he told me that he didn’t know how to describe his family so I would have to ask questions.  “Ohhhh I love this game” I said and began to ask A TON of questions.  From his answers to my rapid fire questions I learned that FMIL Pretzel is very loving and supportive, crafty, and doesn’t like citrus flavored treats.   Did you miss that… I said she is crafty!

I was so happy to learn that she and I have something in common.  When I finally met my future mother in law I immediately loved her.  She is fun and easy-going with a giant heart.  She sends us cards and candy on all of the holidays and always signs them mamammmma which brings a huge smile to my face.

I also learned that she loved weddings!  Cue heavenly music… Mr Pretzel’s baby sister (Bridesmaid M) was recently engaged the first time I met his family. We all watched 27 Dresses together and FMIL Pretzel and M talked a lot about dresses and reception themes.  Since marriage hadn’t started to creep into my brain yet, I kinda chalked it up as silly wedding stuff.

Photo by Kristin Acosta

M was in her last semesters of college, so FMIL Pretzel stepped up and really did a lot to plan M’s wedding.  She researched wedding trends and spent a lot of time on the Knot and Weddingbee. Yes- I hadn’t even discovered the Bee yet and my future mother-in-law was already a Bee veteran!  She took a floral design class and made all of the centerpieces for the reception and the church decorations.  I learned that she did several full table mock ups to show M the different options that she had.  She stalked Michaels, Joann’s, and Hobby Lobby getting the best deals on DIY materials.   In a nut shell- she loves weddings/wedding planning and is a super DIY/bargain hunter. Ummm yeah- this is all icing on the cake.

FMIL Pretzel wasn’t sure how much of our wedding planning fun she would get in on- being the mother of the groom.  I think I would be a fool not to engage her in the process and bounce ideas off of her.  We asked her to help us plan the hometown reception- which lifted a huge weight off of my shoulders. When we were home over Christmas she and I talked wedding stuff non-stop.  She invited me to bring wedding craft projects and I didn’t hesitate. Remember the mock-up of our centerpieces?  We did that together.

I love that she reads my blog and sends me coupons to Joann’s and Michaels. We live ¾ of a country from them and yet we are forming a really nice relationship through the process of planning a wedding.

In what ways have you enjoyed involving your FMIL in the planning of your wedding?

Entry filed under: Family.

Hawaii Will Have to Wait For the Love of Moms Part Two: Momma Pretzel

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. M Brown  |  February 27, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    You are so lucky to have such a supportive FMIL! My FMIL at the time let me know that I was the reason she would no longer be the soul beneficiary of M’s life insurance so I kind of kept her out of the wedding planning process. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


