The “Wedding Room”

April 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm 1 comment

ssshhhhh! Don’t let Mr Pretzel hear you call it that.  To him it is still an office/guest bedroom, but between you and me it’s become the Wedding Room.

I noticed a fair amount of interest in the concept of a Wedding Room when I merely mentioned it in another post.  Let’s be honest, it was destine to be a Wedding Room from the start.  Right before Mr Pretzel and I got engaged we bought a house.  The guest bedroom was extremely empty, with just Mr Pretzel’s desk in it.  He and I both knew that it would remain empty like this until I moved in after the wedding.  As I started to accumulate wedding stuff (i.e. the boxes started arriving from my online shopping) I tried hard to keep all of it corralled at the duplex that I rent. Soon the boxes and Rubbermaid tubs of crafting supplies started to grow into an obstacle. Plus there was the problem that when I as at our townhouse I never had the supplies I needed to do a project.  Without a word, I started to move all the boxes over to our townhouse and up into the guest bedroom.

Source

I’m the first to admit that there was absolutely no organization going on.  As I got packages in the mail I just dropped them in the “wedding room” in their original packaging. With every box I quietly dropped off, Mr P was getting increasingly anxious.  The room was a hot mess and I was the only person who understood the rhyme or reason to it, well sort of.  The straw that broke the camel’s back? I needed something and could not find it.  As I wadded knee deep in wedding “stuff” and dug through boxes Mr P stood at the door and said, “For the love of God, can we organize this?”.  Organize we did.  I’ve corralled, stacked, and labeled my wedding stash.  We set up a crafting space.  Recently, Mr P bought me a giant sticky flip chart so we could make a Master Wedding To-Do list.  It’s a little scary, but reassuring at the same time.  So, as long as you promise not to call it the “wedding room” (so Mr Pretzel feels better) I’ll take you on a tour.*

4507269065_54539f344a.jpgMy craft table and the wedding craft shelves. The mess in the lower right corner? That’s Mr P’s to recycle/shred pile

Close up of the organized shelf.  I spy: Flip flop basket, Mason jars, box of adhesives a la Miss Sewing, box or Ribbon a la Miss Ribbon, a Gocco and tons of supplies, and lots of colored tissue paper

Part I of the Master to-do list. More wedding stuff next to the shelves and Mr Pretzel’s desk.

Close up of the pile next to the shelf. I spy: Birdcage for cards, bouquet bases, milk glass, moustaches, curved wood lantern holders and many many more Pretzel projects.

Part II of the Master To-Do List

The “wedding gift closet.”  Mr P and I are waiting until our households are combined to start using our gifts.

Do you have a “wedding room” or “wedding closet”? What tips do you have for controlling the sprawl of wedding items?

*Please notice the wall color- not.our.cup.of.tea- too busy to paint walls yet, but trust me post wedding those walls will be a drastically different color.

Entry filed under: randomness.

The Best Part of Gifts; Saying Thanks DIY Carry-All

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. 80% Victory: Office | Parker Haus Roles  |  March 4, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    […] to do something about our office in early January.  Before the wedding this was the famed “wedding room” and then for a brief time we tried to make it a dual purpose office/guest room.  The office […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


