DIY Carry-All

April 13, 2010 at 5:17 pm Leave a comment

In the theme of organization a la my wedding room I thought it appropriate to share my take your DIY with you secret.  Keeping two houses in close proximity means that I tote around DIY projects depending on where I am going to be spending time. In my case it seemed like I was taking two plastic tubs with me everywhere. These tubs included my adhesives (fabric glue, glue gun, floral wire, floral tape etc) and my crepe paper/fabric for my forever flowers.  The tubs themselves were cumbersome so I was apt to leave them in one place, invariably the wrong place.

Last month we had a Seattle Bee Craft Meet-up at TPHoliday’s house. When I was getting ready to head over to the meet-up I stared at my flower making supplies knowing that I had to find a better way to carry the supplies around.  I looked around the house and my eyes fell on a vintage suit case.  I bought the suitcase on Etsy for another non-wedding related project that I have a feeling I won’t complete until after the wedding. It is the perfect size to tote around my crepe paper, fabric, glue, and floral supplies. Plus it’s sassy.

A quick search of Etsy for Vintage Suitcase will yield lots of results. I love this cute and easy way to carry my gear.  After the wedding the suitcase will be made into a cat bed.  We’ll attach little wooden feet to the bottom to lift it off the floor and secure the hinge so that it is always open.  I’ll sew a pillow out of old clothes so that it looks like the suitcase is packed.  If you are a cat owner you know that kitties LOVE to sleep in open suitcases.

Oh, and I can’t leave you hanging without a photo from our wonderful DIY get together

From Left to right: TPHoliday, Mthdgirl, and Jackie-O work on Mthdgirl’s invitation design

What do you use to tote around your DIY supplies?

Entry filed under: DIY.

The “Wedding Room” My Rustic Wedding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


