Playing Housewife Pt 3: Funny Face

August 10, 2010 at 11:15 pm Leave a comment

After playing some bridal shower games it was time to get down to business and the part of the shower I was dreading the most.  This whole getting married business had helped me discover something about myself that I hadn’t learned in 32 years of life…

…I hate opening gifts in front of large groups.

Hate, hate, hate.  My whole life I only ever opened gifts with friends or a very small group of friends (5 people tops).  I was quite surprised at the discomfort I felt at my first two showers.  I think in the past I might have felt mild discomfort about having people focus attention on me while I opened a gift. Maybe. But usually it was done and over with in just a matter of minutes, everyone’s attention would move to someone/something else.  But bridal showers with Mr P’s large family- most of whom I didn’t know well- that was another matter.  I was the main attraction, everyone’s eye on me waiting for my reaction, this was something new and different.  I didn’t like it.  I loved the shower and love his family, but the people watching me open gifts – me no likey.

When Mr Pretzel asked me how I liked my showers, I told him I loved them but please don’t make me do the morning after gift opening with friends and family thing at the wedding.  He laughed at me and said OK.  My Seattle shower was much smaller but I still was nervous about the gifts.  I have to say it wasn’t too bad.  Once we got started I channeled any nervous energy I had into some of the most ridiculous facial expressions that I can produce.

You don’t believe me? I have proof.

Exhibits A & B

Exhibits C & D

Exhibits E & F

I am sure most of these faces came out of sheer excitement.  I get very expressive when I get excited so I was sure to make note NOT to make any too many of these faces on our wedding day.  My fingers are crossed that our photos aren’t too overrun with my “happy” faces.

Just a couple gifts in I found the perfect distraction.  My Aunt S’s gift was very special and garnished everyone’s attention.  So some background: I’m the oldest granddaughter so all my aunts got to “practice” on me before having their own kids.  My aunt S has a son, and I think I am the daughter she never had.  I lived with her and my uncle one summer and babysat my cousin.  That summer she took me shopping to buy my first bikini.  I was 14 at the time and it was a big deal for both of us.  She wanted to carry on tradition and buy me some lingerie (and ironically lingerie from my aunt didn’t skeeve me out the way lingerie from my mom did) and she wanted to stay with the 1950’s vintage housewife theme.  She picked out a flouncy little number that looked straight out of Grease and it was perfect.

I had just realized that it is missing a couple pieces, two pieces to be exact.  You see that under wire?  Well there is nothing attached to it- it’s a bra minus the fabric.  Nobody else saw the missing pieces until I put a hand through each hole to demonstrate… and we all fell apart giggling like school girls.

The matching panties have a little heart shaped window.  I love the look on Bridesmaid H’s face here as she tries to envision the whole thing.

I loved that my Aunt picked this out for me. I probably wouldn’t have picked it out myself, but I must admit after trying it on its my favorite lingerie now.  What can I say, I’m a sucker for 1950’s styled stuff.

All the giggling really helped me enjoy the gift opening more.  Note to self, smaller groups, and lots of giggles.

Are you self conscious about opening gifts in front of others?  What tactics can you suggest?

Want to catch up?

Pt 1: The Details

Pt 2: Game Time

Entry filed under: Family, Maids.

Playing Housewife Pt 2: Game Time Lets Start Planning Again

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


