One Foot in the Past, One foot in the Future

November 8, 2010 at 7:32 pm 2 comments

A well meaning friend posted the following on my Facebook wall today:

I heaved a  heavy sigh as I read it and felt bad typing back, “maybe after Thanksgiving”.

I feel like a Facebook bride fail.  I uploaded one photo from our wedding, I shared it with you in my “I’m back” post… and then I got stingy. I didn’t upload any photos to Facebook when my photographer sent us a sneak peak or when he sent us our gallery, or even when he blogged us.  I definitely haven’t started recaps.

“WTF Pretzel? ”

Part of it is I’m not ready.  Outside of pro photos there are other important photos from the wedding week that I  just don’t have yet.  We created a share site for our guests to upload photos but only a few have and apparently by family suffered from “blurry camera” syndrome – which is sad because they took lots of amazing pictures, just a little out of focus.  I expect to get some photos from my in-laws of the wedding week but that won’t be until the end of the month.  Our “rocktographer” friend Jason took photos at our rehearsal dinner and our wedding but has been busy taking concert photos and getting said photos published in the Wall Street Journal (YAY!).   We had other pro Photographers at our wedding who have indicated that they have some shots that we would love. The bottom line,  these folks are our friends.  I am so excited that they took photos and I refuse to pressure them when they have editing to do for paying customers.  So photo wise, I’m just not ready.

Who am I kidding, emotionally I’m not there yet either. I loved our wedding, L-O-V-E-D!  But I’ve been having feelings about blogging the wedding similar to the feelings described by Mrs Seahorse, “The whole thing was so magical and important and special that part of me has been afraid some of that will be lost if I let it out in to the world.”  She captured my feelings so much better than I could have. I want to save all the magic to share with our hometown reception guests.

“Ummmm Pretzel, you are a wedding blogger, and that means you’re gonna have to share pictures and recaps with us sometime”

I know, I know and I will.  But to me being present is more important than photos and recaps.   Being present means being able to focus my full attention to something. There are times that I am guilty of “being somewhere else”.  I want to be present when I start to write recaps, which brings me to the title of this post.    I feel like I have one foot in the past, wrapped up in a beautiful summery Seattle wedding, and one foot in the future, frantically planning a fall themed hometown reception from half way across the country.  If I had another foot it would be planted firmly in being present in my bright and shiny new marriage with my new husband.  Every time I sit down to blog I am torn between wrapping up project posts from the July wedding, writing about the planning that is happening right now, and turning off the computer to be present with my husband.

The fact of the matter is I only have two feet. I choose my husband and wrapping up the planning for the second party.  So, yeah… it’s going to be a while before we revisit that sunny day in July Mr P became my husband.  It also means that I am going to have some focused posts on planning a second reception, while becoming accustom to being a wife.

Ok,  I won’t leave you totally hanging.  Here is one of my favorite shots from our ceremony.

Do you struggle with being present? Did you share photos of your wedding right away or did you wait?

Entry filed under: Planning.

Another Way to Say “YAY!” Here We Go Again: Its Not A Wedding?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. roughit  |  November 19, 2010 at 4:40 am

    Ahh it’s so much harder than I thought! I thought when
    people said it was hard, they meant remembering or coming up with
    the pictures, but it’s hard sharing. MINE MINE MINE. Not logical…
    but still hard. Also I LOVE that picture and can’t wait to see
    more. When you’re ready. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. iftinkerbellknit  |  November 20, 2010 at 10:12 am

      I hear you! “Mine” 🙂 I’m slowly getting over it and I expect to start recaps in December. Fingers crossed that I have our pro and non-pro photos then.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


