Here We Go Again: Favor-ites

November 16, 2010 at 12:42 am 7 comments

I can thank a co-worker for our hometown reception favors.  I work with a number of individuals from Quebec.   I’m not one for sweets, but growing up in New Hampshire I have a soft spot in my heart for Maple Sugar Candy.  If you’ve never had maple sugar candy, I’m not sure how to describe it.  It is made by taking sap from the maple tree and boiling off the excess water.  When done well, it is like butter in your mouth.  When it is done not-so-well it is gritty and hard. A couple months ago my co-worker took a trip home to Montreal and she returned with the most delectable maple sugar candy.  As I savored the candies and my mind was filled with images of New England growing up I had an epiphany, maple leaf shaped maple sugar candy would be the perfect gift for our hometown reception.  It honors where I grew up and also fits well with our fall tree and leaf themed party.

Source
Let me warn you, not all maple sugar candy is created equal.  The first company I ordered samples from sent me hard, gritty, old maple sugar candy- yuck.  I felt a little guilty leaving the offending candy on my desk for my co-workers (the non Quebecois ones- the Quebecois ones knew better) but they ate them up quickly nonetheless.  Boo… but I hit jackpot on my second order. Vermont Maple on etsy sent me an amazing sample- completely fresh with a buttery texture.  Plus Amy at Vermont Maple told me they would make my batch the week before our party to ensure maximum freshness.  WOOT WOOT!  I ordered up 12 lbs for approximately 440 pieces.  We were estimating 200 guests at our Hometown reception.

I’m almost as excited about the packaging as I am about the favors.  We’re making the packaging 100% from scratch. My favorite things about my Silhouette Machine are the 3D projects that I can make, including these adorable boxes.  I sized them to fit 2 maple sugar candy pieces.  I had a lot of kraft paper left over from projects for our wedding and I was able to use it to make our boxes. We’re going to use the boxes as seating cards and display them in the entryway with this sign.

The box top will display the guest’s name and table assignment, as well as a paper leaf.

Variety of leaf shapes and colors

Open the box and it is lined with parchment paper.  We’ll put and insert that identifies the candy as Maple Sugar Candy and Amy’s favorite candy growing up in NH.

These candies are from the first batch I ordered, you can see the granulation of the sugar.
Our RSVPs came in much lower than we expected, which means lots of extra maple sugar candy for Mr P and I!  And one of the great things about the boxes are that they can be shipped flat and assembled in Indiana when we arrive in a couple weeks.

I got an email this weekend from Amy, they are making our candies next week.  I am beyond excited!
Are you having favors with a shelf life? How are you keeping them fresh?

Entry filed under: DIY.

Here We Go Again: You’re Invited! Here We Go Again: Linens ‘n’ Things

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Whatcha doin with your extra candy ? 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. iftinkerbellknit  |  November 18, 2010 at 10:15 am

    ummm maybe putting some in with the girl and the boy’s Christmas gifts? 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Sarah  |  November 18, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      Excellent 🙂 You remember my Vermont side trip(s) to pick up candy, don’t you ? 🙂

      Reply
      • 4. Sarah  |  November 18, 2010 at 5:23 pm

        Want us to send you some chocolate frogs? That is the treat of the (birthday) season here…Must make more tonight…

      • 5. iftinkerbellknit  |  November 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm

        ohhh yes please! 🙂

  • 6. Sarah  |  November 19, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I didn’t make more yet…I’ll keep you in mind…you know how “no one” ever comes to the boy’s party? So this year we invited a ton of kids and they are all coming—AGGGGHHHH….and my chocolate keeps looking weird, ugh, what an issue….

    Reply
    • 7. iftinkerbellknit  |  November 20, 2010 at 10:10 am

      oh my! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


