Snip, snip, snippiddy, snip

December 13, 2010 at 5:54 pm 2 comments

A couple of days ago Mr P and I realized we had been married 5 months already- Whoa!  I decided to celebrate this milestone by freeing my husband from the thing he proclaims to be the only downside of marrying me -having to deal with my hair.

My poor husband was being attacked by my hair. I kid you not.  My locks had grown out of control post wedding- reaching down to the small of my back.  I never really set out to grow my hair long- it just sort of grew out of my laziness.  I tend to be a person who “sheds” a fair amount and at that length it was a wee bit out of control.

“Oh don’t mind that tumbleweed of Pretzel’s locks blowing across the living room floor.” Ewwwe gross!

Exhibit A: the fruits of my lazy

To be fair to Mr P, I desperately wanted to chop my hair for awhile now, I prefer short hair and the novelty of my hair being the “longest ever” had wore off.  I figured I would go in for an inverted bob- a style I have had rock a time or two in the past.

I love me a bob!

As I was in the chair, explaining my desired cut to my stylist I felt a little very lame playing it safe so I amended my request and asked for something that I haven’t had in 20 years.

BANGS!

The last time I had them it *might* have been in the 1980s and I *may* have used copious amounts of hair spray to have them defy gravity.  I have to say I love my new do!

It’s a little freaky how dark and glossy my hair looks with this cut- I didn’t dye it though. Here is a more true to life picture.

I always love seeing post wedding chops and I am glad I went big for mine. Mr P and I have been having fun brainstorming who I could be for Halloween with this new do- so far I have:

Velma from Scooby-Doo

Edna from the Incredibles

and Hetty Lange from NCIS Los Angeles

But funny Halloween costumes aside, one of the main reasons I didn’t cut it immediately after the wedding was because it was getting close to the donation length for Locks of Love .  I wanted to be absolutely sure that my donation would be accepted.  My Dad’s family carries the BRCA1 breast cancer gene (I do not) and my cousin had two bouts with aggressive breast cancer.  Donating my hair to this great cause was very important to me.

Success!

If you are thinking about a PCW and want to donate to locks of love here are some general guidelines (according to the locks of love website)

  • Hair must be in a pony tail and measure 10in from tip to tip
  • Layered hair is OK as long as longest layer is at least 10 inches
  • Colored and permed hair are OK
  • Grey hair is OK, but won’t be used in the hair pieces
  • Highlighted or bleached hair is not accepted

Oh and Mr P is over the moon for my new look.  As for finding my hair everywhere, together we vacuumed up the last “pretzel tumbleweeds” this weekend.

Are you going big with a PWC?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Here We Go Again:Rusticification of the Lounge 5 Star Camping: Up, Up, and Away

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    You know that donating to Locks of Love runs in the family, right ? Claudia was excited to see your donation–her longest has been 11 inches and shortest 8 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jaime Straus  |  December 15, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I love it!!!!! What a change! And it’s crazy how healthy shiny your hair looks in the photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


