Twisted Together: Modern Family Portraits

May 23, 2011 at 9:55 am Leave a comment

After our little photo shoot in the parking lot of the Church we were ready to play model for a bit.  Instead of going back into the Church for formal portraits we loaded into our party bus and headed south to Seattle.  Like many Catholic brides we had a couple hour gap between the ceremony and the reception. We used this time to take some family and wedding party portraits while we made our way to our venue in the Georgetown neighborhood of Seattle.  For formals, Mr P and I chose a modern backdrop, Olympic Sculpture Park.

*All photos by Amore Studios unless otherwise noted

Perhaps my favorite of all of our formals is this picture of my parents, SIL Tig, Niece, Nephew, and Big Bro Pretzel.  The kids really make this shot for me and I love the lighting.

We took turns taking photos with both of my parents…

…And with my brother’s family.  This was perhaps one of the warmest days that we had last summer and our family and wedding party were good sports taking cover in the shade while we took photos.

Mr P’s family is significantly larger.  Our photographer did a good job breaking people out of the “formal photo configuration” and into some interesting groupings.

Mr Pretzel’s Grandparents…

… And parents.

Our awesome wedding party.

The groomsmen give Mr P a “lift”…

And get… and did some posing.

My MIL picked up these parasols on sale for me.  I love the color pops!  We didn’t take a ton of photos with our wedding party mainly because of the heat.  It also took a lot longer to gather everyone together.  In hindsight I wish I had asked for individual photos with my bridesmaids.

The backdrop for all of our formal photos is this art installation titled Wake by Richard Serra.

Source: Place Paced

The heat and brightness of the sun meant that we limited the different backdrops that we used.  The park has so many vignettes to offer and is a great alternative to traditional church formals.

Before leaving the Park we did take a little time for couple portraits.

This amazing shot was achieved by Mr P and I standing on (the same) wire chair- while I was wearing 4 inch heels! Eeek!  I kid you not I was almost falling over and holding on to my hubby for dear life.

We found some solid ground to stand on.  A week earlier Mr P and I had taken a walk around the park and found this temporary art installation on a hillside.  We loved these home appliances made out of particle board.

At the entrance to the park this metal corrugated wall created a dynamic backdrop.

Need to catch up?

Twisted Together, aka Pretzel recaps:

Wedding Week

Getting Ready

The Ceremony
Photography
Entry filed under: Photography, Recap.

Twisted Together: Jerry’s Truck Twisted Together: A Georgetown Cocktail

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


