Twisted Together: Take me for a twirl

May 30, 2011 at 4:35 pm 1 comment

Mr Pretzel and I were introduced at the reception over the last few refrains of Kodachrome by Simon and Garfunkel.  An appropriate choice for our colorful wedding.  Our DOC ensured the dance floor was clear and that we had a clear path to it so we could immediately start our first dance as husband and wife.

*All images by Amore Studios unless otherwise noted.

Guest Photo Courtesy of friend Jason Tang

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

Our guests were in for a surprise. For months leading up to the wedding Mr P and I spent 2 evenings a week in dance lessons with Andrea at American Ballroom Dance in Bothell WA.  Andrea choreographed a routine for us to L-O-V-E by Michael Buble.  These lessons were special time for Matt and I.  We worked hard and we worked together.  Mr P was a bit more of a natural than I was but we polished the dance.  We promised our instructor no beers before our first dance, hence why we did the dance immediately after entering the reception. Plus it was a fun way to kick off the party . Play the video to listen along.

We took our places as the music started.

Our dance of choice was a foxtrot.

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

Mr Pretzel helps me out by counting under his breath.

We spun, twirled, and fox troted around our dance floor.

Previous two images courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

The ending, the big finale was a move called a chainsaw.  I was a little nervous the first time Andrea showed us this move, but by the time the wedding came around we were pros.

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

Mr P walked behind me and took my outstretched hand. Crossing my arms in front of me he started to tilt me to the side…

… and then pointed me face to the ground…

… untwisting my arms I spun to face up to the ceiling…

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

…with a leg popped out all cute.

Then Mr Pretzel lifted me back up to standing position.  We took a bow and then celebrated with a kiss.

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

Swiftly as we exited the dance floor our fabulous DOC handed us each a beer.  Perfection!

Amazing, right?  Our friends and family cheered, they were certainly impressed.  However, Mr P and I were a little bit heartbroken.  What you can’t see in the beautiful photos is the point, only 2 verses into the song, where our world began to unravel.  Our song was being played via iPod over the bands sound system and the volume was not loud enough.  The acoustics in the room at times made it impossible to hear the music.  All of a sudden Mr P couldn’t hear the music and then he lost his spot.  He couldn’t remember the steps and couldn’t figure out where we were in the routine.  I also lost the music but was able to get caught up. I tried to lead him through the rest of the song stringing together steps from the routine.  We winged it and got through. We got to the big finale and nailed it.

In the end, nobody knew that we had screwed up but us.  My instant reaction was to want a do-over, that’s the competitive side of me.  Mr P felt horrible, like he had let me down.  In the images of us hugging after the dance Mr P was telling me over and over “I am so sorry”  and I am reassuring him that it is ok.   It wasn’t a matter of knowing the dance or having enough practice, it came down to being able to hear the music and it was nobody’s fault.  Over time we came to accept our first dance for what it was, absolutely amazing, magical, flawed and real.  It wasn’t exactly as we had practiced but it was entirely us.  We have a video of the dance. I watched it a month after the wedding and couldn’t get through it.  I put it on a shelf and maybe someday I can watch it without reliving the panic that we both felt when we lost the music.  We do have a cell phone video of us doing a dry run at our venue.  This is the dance in its entirety.  We were just practicing to map out the dance space needed so it isn’t polished or perfect. We didn’t do a full chainsaw at the end but it gives you an idea.

I wouldn’t trade the hours of practice in for anything.  Sure the dance wasn’t perfect but  the months of preparation were. We carved out time every week just for us.  If one of us was in a grouchy mood from work by the time we left dance lessons we were happy.  We both feel much more comfortable on the dance floor when a slow song comes on.  All of this is why I don’t regret dance lessons and why I would suggest them to anyone.  A month after the wedding Mr P and I competed at the Seattle Star Ball in the beginner category and earned three first places (full disclosure they give away first places like candy, but we had fun).

Did anything go wrong in your first dance? How did you recover?

Need to catch up on the Twisted Together, aka Pretzel recaps?

Wedding Week

Getting Ready

The Ceremony

Photography

The Reception

  • Cocktail Hour
Entry filed under: Photography, Recap.

Twisted Together: Georgetown Walk for Two Twisted Together: The Dads Speak

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jaime Jackimiec Straus  |  June 3, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Awwww, I’m sorry it didn’t go as planned but the moment is yours to remember and I’m happy you see it as nothing short of magical now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


