Twisted Together: Dance with Me

June 21, 2011 at 1:19 pm Leave a comment

I mentioned how much Mr P and I enjoyed taking dance lessons and choreographing our first dance.  After a couple of weeks of lessons I thought that Papa Pretzel might also enjoy dance lessons.

* All image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images} unless otherwise noted.

Papa Pretzel isn’t much of a dancer but is always down for a challenge. One evening when Papa Pretzel and I were catching I floated an idea. “Would you consider taking dance lessons Dad?” I asked.

“Gosh darn it Pretzel you certainly know how to ruin a surprise.  I had already decided to take lessons and was going to surprise you” he replied.  Whoops!

Photo by Amore Studios

My Dad took lessons in Phoenix and his instructor collaborated with my instructor via email.  We selected James Taylor’s “You’ve got a Friend” and our instructors taught us a couple basic steps that we could string together.  We didn’t get to practice with each other until a couple days before the wedding and admittedly my Dad was much better than I was.  He would tell me which step he wanted to do next and sometimes I couldn’t remember which one that was. While we were dancing I let him know I need lots of advance notice!

Papa Pretzel wears two hearing aids.  Unfortunately they had been acting up around the time of our wedding and he only had one with him.  While we were dancing I could tell that he was having trouble hearing the music (as Mr P had earlier) so I began singing the words to him so he could get the beat. We sang the song together and I am still struck by how the lyrics to this song resonate so perfectly with the relationship that I have with Papa Pretzel.

When you’re down and troubled and you need a helping hand
and nothing, whoa, nothing is going right.
Close your eyes and think of me and soon I will be there

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend.

If the sky above you should turn dark and full of clouds
and that old north wind should begin to blow,
keep your head together and call my name out loud.
Soon I will be knocking upon your door.
You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there.

Hey, ain’t it good to know that you’ve got a friend? People can be so cold.
They’ll hurt you and desert you. Well, they’ll take your soul if you let them,
oh yeah, but don’t you let them.

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call, Lord, I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend. You’ve got a friend.
Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend. Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend.
Oh, yeah, yeah, you’ve got a friend.

I’m so happy Papa Pretzel took dance lessons, he and I had so much fun dancing and Papa P ended up really enjoying his lessons.

MIL Pretzel chose a “You Decorated My Life” by Kenny Roger for the mother son dance.

All my life was a paper once plain, pure and white
Till you moved with your pen changin’ moods now and then
Till the balance was right
Then you added some music, ev’ry note was in place
And anybody could see all the changes in me by the look on my face

And you decorated my life, created a world where dreams area apart
And you decorated my life by paintin’ your love all over my heart
You decorated my life

Photo by Amore Studios

Like a rhyme with no reason in an unfinished song
There was no harmony life meant nothin’ to me, until you cam along
And you brought out the colors, what a gentle surprise
Now I’m able to see all the things life can be shinin’ soft in your eyes

Photo by Amore Studios

And you decorated my life, created a world where dreams are a part
And you decorated my life by paintin’ your love all over my heart
You decorated my life

Photo by Amore Studios

With our parent dances complete it was time for me to trade in my heels for my custom dyed Chuck Taylors.

Photo by Amore Studios

Ahhh much better!

Need to catch up on Twisted Together, aka the Pretzel recaps?

Wedding Week

Getting Ready

The Ceremony

Photography

The Reception

Entry filed under: Recap.

Twisted Together: Photo Booth All-Stars Twisted Together: Rock On

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


