Twisted Together: Rock On

June 22, 2011 at 8:20 am Leave a comment

We wanted a band… a band who would rock and keep the party going, not necessarily a “wedding band”.  I lamented about it in this post. I wanted to rock out but was conflicted with my desire for some old school hip hop.  Is there a band out there that is both rock and old school hip hop? Probably not, so we focused on a band who would rock.

*All photos from Amore Studios unless otherwise noted.

I think we were successful!  We stayed clear of “wedding bands” and started searching Gig Masters.  We had a short list of 3 bands we wanted to see in person.  On our first excursion out we stumbled upon our band by mistake.  The band that we thought we were going to see canceled and the bar booked The About Face band instead. We weren’t aware of the switch-a-roo and at the band’s first intermission we chatted with the lead singer only to find they weren’t who we thought they were. Whoops!  But we liked them, we liked them a lot. We went to see two more bands but they didn’t compare to the first band.

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

What’s not to love? This four piece plays classic rock and the lead singer Arny sounds just like Steve Perry from Journey.

As soon as they started playing everyone was on the floor dancing.  My Uncle J was very influential in my love of classic rock growing up.  He was in heaven rocking out all night.  We couldn’t have chosen a better band.

When I started to think about this post I kept thinking about the playlist for the night.  Mr P and I chose the songs and created the iPod intermissions.  I emailed Arny  hoping that he still had our playlist 10 months later.  Despite having a crashed computer and losing most of his playlists just months earlier Arny came through and delivered.  That my friends is customer service!
Set 1
  • Magic Carpet Ride – Steppenwolf
  • You May Be Right – Billy Joel
  • China Grove – Doobie Brothers
  • I Got You (I Feel Good) – James Brown
  • Amie – Pure Prairie League

As soon as they started to play Amie I was surrounded by family.  My aunt and my dad both used to sing this song to me as baby. Everyone sang along as my dad took me for a spin and then handed me off to my hubby.

  • Gimme Three Steps – Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Summer of ’69 – Bryan Adams
  • I Saw Her Standing There – The Beatles
  • Are You Gonna Be My Girl – Jet
  • Some Kind of Wonderful- Grand Funk Railroad
  • Wonderful Tonight – Eric Clapton
  • Already Gone – Sugarland
  • Pretty Woman – Roy Orbison
  • Still the One – Orleans
  • Rock and Roll Band – Boston
  • Superstition – Stevie Wonder

Intermission I: Motown iPod mix:

  • How Sweet it is (To Be Loved By You)- Marvin Gaye
  • You Really Got a Hold On Me – Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
  • My Girl- The Temptations
  • Sherry – Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
  • ABC – The Jackson 5
  • Uptight (Everything’s Alright) – Stevie Wonder
Set 2
  • LaGrange – ZZ Top
  • You Really Got Me – Van Halen
  • Down on the Corner – Creedence Clearwater Revival
  • Day Tripper – The Beatles
  • Holiday – Green Day
  • Long Train Runnin’ – Doobie Brothers
  • Let it Ride – Bachman Turner Overdrive
  • Boogie Shoes – K.C. & The Sunshine Band
  • I’m Your Boogie Man- K.C. & The Sunshine Band
  • Get Down Tonight – K.C. & The Sunshine Band
  • That’s the Way (I Like It) – K.C. & The Sunshine Band
  • Shake, Shake, Shake – K.C. & The Sunshine Band
  • Hotel California – The Eagles
  • Hard to Handle – Black Crowes
  • Jesus is Just Alright – The Doobie Brothers
  • Rock and Roll – Led Zeppelin

Intermission II Hip-Hop Ipod Mix:

  • Imma Be – Black Eyed Peas
  • I’m on a Boat
  • Show Me- (AKA the Friday Song) – Mint Royale with Pos from De La Soul
  • This is How We Do It- Montell Jordan
  • It Takes Two – Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock
“I’m on a boat” gets played at all the Pretzel family weddings now, mainly because Best Man M looks like Andy Samberg.
Set 3
  • Wild Nights – John Mellencamp
  • Signed, Sealed, Delivered – Stevie Wonder
  • Hard Day’s Night – The Beatles
  • Secret Agent Man – Johnny Rivers
  • Brown Eyed Girl – Van Morrison
  • Honky Tonk Woman – Rolling Stones
  • Ain’t Too Proud to Beg – The Temptations
  • Brown Sugar – Rolling Stone
  • Can’t Get Enough –  Bad Company
  • Twist and Shout – The Beatles
  • Hurts So Good – John Mellencamp
  • I’m a Believer – The Monkees
  • Domino- Van Morrison
  • Open Arms – Journey
  • Separate Way – Journey

The dancing wasn’t limited to the dance floor.  A lot of our guests were enjoying the music outside too. Mr P sings to me as we dance outside our venue.

Image courtesy of wedding guest, Mrs Cherry Pie {Persimmon Images}

Our band rocked and Mr P and I danced our butts off.  So much so that I managed to rip the strap to my dress with one of many fist pumps that night, but it all totally worth it.

Going for a non-wedding band really paid off for us.  The band’s rate was totally reasonable and they were a dream to work with.  At the end of the night my Uncle J said to his daughter “When you get married, you’re having a band like this”.

Coming up next: Cake time!

Need to catch up on Twisted Together, aka the Pretzel recaps?

Wedding Week

Getting Ready

The Ceremony

Photography

The Reception

Entry filed under: Recap.

Twisted Together: Dance with Me Twisted Together: Cake of the Cup Kind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


