Gifting Talents

November 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm Leave a comment

Hiya! Just popping my head back in to share a really great experience that I had at a last-minute backyard wedding a couple of months ago. I realized how much society is wrapped up in the idea that weddings take a long time to plan and cost a lot of money when I had the privilege of attending a wedding that was planned in just a few weeks time, was inexpensive, and was full of love and joy.

IMGP4925

It started when my husband’s coworker, Jamie, asked him if we were doing anything on August 20th. He replied that we weren’t and Jamie said, “Dru and I are getting married, we’d like you to come.”

A bit of back story, Dru and Jamie had been together for close to 10 years. He had asked her to marry him a few times and she had said no each time until this summer when she looked at him and said, “let’s get married”.

He got our mailing address and a few days later a nice homemade invitation arrived. The invitation featured some of Dru’s artwork and asked us to bring ourselves, a dish to share, and a flower from our garden.  Our flowers made up the beautiful bouquet she carried as her son walked her down the aisle.

IMG_1426

The wedding was in their beautiful backyard overlooking Puget Sound. In the weeks between the day the decided to get married and the wedding Jamie worked hard on the backyard and house, getting it ready for the big day.

IMGP4836

The food was wonderful, everyone brought something for the grill and a dish to pass.

IMGP4908

IMGP4880

Jamie and Dru reached out to friends with talents.  For instance the cake was made and decorated on site by a loved one and the entertainment was provided by work/motorcycle riding friends who happen to have a classic rock band.

IMGP4893

The invitation indicated that they didn’t want gifts, but knowing that they likely hadn’t hired a photographer I brought my camera with me to the wedding hoping to get some good photos.  They had also asked another friend, Mark, to take photos.  Between the two of us we were able to capture their day quite well.  Mark sent me his unedited photos. I spent a lot of time editing both sets of photos and selecting the best of the bunch for an album for Jamie and Dru.  IMGP5547

I ordered a 8″ x 8″ 50 page book from AdoramaPix. I used them for our photo guest book and a book I gifted Mr P on our wedding day.  What can I say, I love the thick photo pages.IMGP5548

The pages are printed on archival quality Kodak Lustre photo paper. Adorama’s unique binding process means that a two page spread is printed on one piece of photo paper- eliminating the gutter or seam.  Pretty!IMGP5539

To say that Jamie and Dru were over the moon for this gift is an understatement.  They have enjoyed showing off their big day through Mark and my photos and let me know they will treasure the album in the years to come.  The real gift for me was to be there an experience a simple, joy filled wedding with people we care about.

Have you ever “gifted” your services or talents to a bride a groom? Are you using friendors at your wedding?

Entry filed under: randomness.

Losing It Together Pretzel Party: Details, Details

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


