Pretzel Party: Details, Details

November 23, 2011 at 4:53 pm Leave a comment

About a month ago I celebrated my 2 year anniversary as a Weddingbee blogger.  I figured since the 1 year anniversary of our hometown reception is just days away that now would be the perfect time to wrap things up.

Our Seattle wedding and reception in July 2010 was amazing and we were blessed to also be able to have a second reception November 2010 in my husband’s hometown of Fort Wayne Indiana.  My mother-in-law was an indispensable partner in planning the party.  The days leading up to the party she helped me craft silk flower arrangements and put together the centerpieces. Fellow Bee and dear friend Mrs Bunny drove in from Ohio to photograph the event.  All images courtesy of Lisa Rice Photography unless otherwise noted.

PretzelWedEdit-0424

The party was the day after Thanksgiving at Ceruti’s Diamond Room.  Our guests were welcomed by this decidedly “Pretzel” sign.  Because I wasn’t a bride- we’d been married four months already- I had no qualms about doing the set up myself with help from Mr P and my in-laws. Of course this meant running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to get ready at the last-minute- but whatever. It made me appreciate my amazing DOC from the Seattle wedding even more. All of the little details came together so nicely.

PretzelWedEdit-9418

As they entered the lobby guests were instructed to find their seat with a treat.

PretzelWedEdit-9420

The maple sugar candy favors were a hit!

PretzelWedEdit-9710

Our guest book table sported another family photo window. We loved the original so much we had my in laws go to the local re-store and pick up another vintage window.  This time I applied vinyl lettering identifying each of the photos. We simply brought the photo guest book from our wedding and had our guests add their well wishes.

PretzelWedEdit-9433

PretzelWedEdit-9550

Guests also enjoyed getting a peek at our wedding photo album. We also recycled some decorations from the wedding, the M & A and mini-me cupcake toppers.

With splashes of red, orange, goldenrod and aqua the banquet hall took on a more rustic vibe.

PretzelWedEdit-9406

PretzelWedEdit-9515

PretzelWedEdit-9400

Our cocktail tables were livened up with some burlap and canning jar votives. The signs advertised the photo booth and also the ask the newlywed game that we would play later.

PretzelWedEdit-0078

PretzelWedEdit-9518

The lounge was sufficiently rustic.

PretzelWedEdit-9535

And the centerpieces were a great

PretzelWedEdit-9702

PretzelWedEdit-9533

The family table was perhaps my favorite feature.  My MIL taught me how to arrange silk flowers and between the two of us we made these gorgeous arrangements just days before the party.  We gifted them to my aunts and Matt’s grandma at the end of the night.

PretzelWedEdit-9525

PretzelWedEdit-9494

Every last detail was in place. It was time for me to squeeze into my wedding dress one last time.

PretzelWedEdit-9438

I did my makeup right there in the lady’s room at the banquet hall.  Funny story about my hair.  At the last-minute I decided not to do own my hair and booked an appointment at my MIL’s salon.  I told my stylist, Phyllis, that I wanted loose curls.  Apparently the word “loose” got lost in translation because she proceeded to “Shirley Temple curl” my hair which took for-ev-ah. To add insult to injury, she shellacked my curls with hair spray.  I smiled nervously as I tried to loosen them up by running my fingers through my hair.  The best I could do was pull it half up/half down.  When Mr Pretzel saw my  nest of curls he said “What the hell happened to your hair?” I answered him a matter-of-factly “Her name was Phyllis”.

PretzelWedEdit-9441

At least I had my chucks, I was ready to rock.

Up next the party gets going!

Entry filed under: Recap.

Gifting Talents Pretzel Party: Gathering Together

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives


