You mean my dress can be SHORT?

December 29, 2009 at 9:19 am 3 comments

We’ve talked about my feelings of “Bride FAIL” when initially looking at wedding dresses. I told you that I felt little better when I found sleek modern build-it-yourself dresses.  But I’ve gotta admit I still felt like a bridal fraud because it was the God’s-honest-truth that I could still care less about the dress- not just the process of shopping for the dress- I could care less about THE DRESS.

I don’t like wedding dresses. There I said it. Please don’t disown me… I love every other aspect of wedding planning – I even like wedding dresses on other people.   But when I look at wedding dresses for me all I felt “Mehh”.

I was conflicted. I knew I wanted to be a bride with a white wedding dress, but really I just wished that my fairy godmother would say” Pretzel, here you go- this is your dress, wear it and be bridal”.

Source

Sigh…  I promise there is a happy ending to this predicament.   Remember, I was content (although not inspired) with ordering an Olivia Luca dress.  I pushed dresses out of my Pretzel brain and moved on to more fun things like venue, food, and DIY projects.  I guess my fairy godmother works on her own schedule.

I was click-click-clicking through wedding blogs gathering inspiration when my mouse hovered on a link. “Rock ‘n Roll Bride” it beckened.  “Ohhh…. Pretzel loves Rock ‘n Roll” I thought.  I clicked the link and nearly fell of my chair.

Filling my screen was photos from a wedding where the bride wore a white, tea length, 1950’s style party dress by Stephanie James Couture . *Swoon.*  The Rustic Railroad styled wedding quickly went into my bookmarked inspiration.

My brain started cranking. “Wedding Dresses can be short?” I pondered.  All of my dislikes of wedding dresses melted away and it dawned on me.  I really just didn’t want a long wedding dress.  I didn’t want to worry about tripping, people carrying my dress around or bustling.   I really wanted my kick a$$ shoes to show, and I wanted to be able to twirl around like a little girl and watch my dress flutter.  I was geeking on the 1950’s vibe, remember Mama Pretzel thought I was born in the wrong era.  This was just all too perfect.

A couple days later Rock ‘n Roll bride featured another Stephanie James Couture bride (Infused) and it was too much for this Pretzel to handle. I clicked on the link and dove head first into a hunt for the perfect Pretzel wedding dress.  For the first time- I did not feel like a wedding dress fraud.

Did I find my wedding dress? We’ll see as this saga continues. For now let me leave you with some images of dresses by the amazing Stephanie James Couture.

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Are you a “short dress bride”?  What were your reasons for ditching the long dress?

Entry filed under: Dress.

Two Pretzels walk into… Dressing Mama P

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I am Mrs Pretzel

On Weddingbee

Archives